Litigation Hold

The Migration Profile includes the option to copy Litigation Hold settings and data from source mailboxes to target mailboxes.

The copy process will capture the following settings if this box is checked:

  • LitigationHoldDate: This value will be copied as-is from the source mailbox to the target mailbox.
  • LitigationHoldDuration: This value will be copied as-is from the source mailbox to the target mailbox.
  • LitigationHoldEnabled: This will only be copied if the value is set to True on the source and False on the target.
  • LitigationHoldOwner: Power365 will look to see if the configured user is mapped to a user in the target and set appropriately. If the source user has not been mapped to a target user then a warning will be issued in the logs and the user will be set to the Binary Tree target PowerShell account.
  • RetentionUrl: This value will be copied as-is from the source mailbox to the target mailbox.
  • RetentionComment: This value will be copied as-is from the source mailbox to the target mailbox.

The following Litigation Hold data will be copied from the Recoverable Items folder

  • Versions
  • Purges
  • Discovery Holds

Note: The configuration settings for Discovery Holds will not be copied as part of this feature.

Note: When the Litigation Hold option is enabled, the calendar data is only synced during the final cutover.

WARNING: Enabling the copying of Litigation Hold will fail if the target mailbox doesn’t have the right license type.

 

What is Litigation Hold?

Litigation Hold is a feature of MS Exchange. When a mailbox is placed on Litigation Hold, it will preserve all mailbox content, including deleted items and original versions of modified items. When you place a mailbox on Litigation Hold, the user's archive mailbox (if it's enabled) is also placed on hold. Deleted and modified items are preserved for a specified period or until the Litigation Hold is removed. This provides searchability of all content once the hold is in place without the risk of modification or deletion.

 

What does Litigation Hold Copy do?

When the Litigation Hold Copy feature is enabled, the following will be preserved or disabled during the Mailbox Migration process.

  1. Litigation Hold Settings

    The mailbox migration process will capture the following settings if this feature is enabled:

    • LitigationHoldDate: This value will be copied as-is from the source mailbox to the target mailbox.
    • LitigationHoldDuration: This value will be copied as-is from the source mailbox to the target mailbox.
    • LitigationHoldEnabled: This will only be copied if the value is set to True on the source and False on the target.
    • LitigationHoldOwner: Power365 will look to see if the configured user is mapped to a user in the target and set appropriately. If the source user has not been mapped to a target user then a warning will be issued in the logs and the user will be set to the Binary Tree target PowerShell account.
    • RetentionUrl: This value will be copied as-is from the source mailbox to the target mailbox.
    • RetentionUrl: This value will be copied as-is from the source mailbox to the target mailbox.
  2. Litigation Hold Data

    The following Litigation Hold data will be copied from the Recoverable Items folder:

    • Versions
    • Purges
    • Discovery Holds
  3. Address Translation

    When Litigation Hold Copy is enabled, Address Translation of the From, To, CC and BCC fields in mailbox contents will not be translated to the target domain. In other words, Jon@source.com will not be translated to Jon@target.com. The message header remains unchanged.

  4. Data Filters

    When Litigation Hold Copy is enabled, all options to filter mailbox content during the migration is not permitted. The entire contents of the mailbox will be migrated to the destination mailbox.

WARNING: Enabling the copying of Litigation Hold will fail if the target mailbox doesn’t have the right license type.

 

How do I enable the Litigation Hold Copy feature?

The Litigation Hold Copy feature is enabled or disabled within the assigned Migration Profile. Follow these steps to modify your selected Migration Profile.

  1. Sign-In to Power365 and open your project.
  2. Select the Left Drop-Down Menu in the upper banner.
  3. Under Setup, select Profiles.
  4. Locate the desired Migration Profile or Add a new one.
  5. Select the Modify action for the selected Migration Profile.
  6. Select Next until you reach the Litigation Hold question, “Do you want to Copy Litigation Hold Settings and Data?”
  7. Select “Yes” then click Next. This will enable the feature. Selecting “No” will disable the feature.
  8. Complete the remaining Migration Profile wizard questions.
  9. Once the Migration Profile is properly configured for Litigation Hold, assign this profile to the appropriate users or waves.

 

How do I know if my users are under Litigation Hold?

Power365 will display within the Users view and the Users Details if the Litigation hold is enabled for the source mailbox and if the user is assigned to a Migration Profile with Litigation Hold Copy enabled.

  • A column called, “LH” within the “User View” will display “Detected” if mailbox litigation hold settings were found and will display “no value” otherwise.
  • A field called, “Litigation Hold” within the “User Details” page will display “Detected” if mailbox litigation hold settings were found and will display “None Detected” otherwise.
  • A field called, “Litigation Hold Profile” within the “User Details” page will display “Enabled” if mailbox litigation hold settings are enabled in the currently assigned Migration Profile, and will display “Disabled” otherwise.

You may also query MS Exchange to determine which users are under Litigation Hold. For example: get-mailbox | where-object {($_.litigationholdenabled -eq "true")} | fl Name

 

Are there any post-migration considerations for Active Users?

If Litigation Hold copy is enabled, there are several limitations to consider for active users.

  1. Replay-Ability of messages and calendar items will not be possible without manual action to correct the reply addresses.
  2. Editability of migrated content may be impaired and require manual intervention to correct the state of the item (i.e. Resaving, Forwarding or Recreating migrated items).

 

When should I enable Litigation Hold Copy?

If you are migrating users that are under Litigation Hold in the source environment and you desire the Litigation Hold settings and data to be preserved, then you should enable this feature.

If Litigation Hold Copy is enabled for users actively utilizing their mailboxes and will continue to use their target mailbox, post-migration, then consider the aforementioned limitations when enabling this Migration Profile option.